Yes, that’s right, he became the first player ever, at least on a live stream, to be eliminated from a tournament in a hand he didn’t actually lose. No one, not even the announcers, caught the mistake, and by the time it was discovered the pot should have been chopped, it was too late.
“It does fall under player and dealer responsibility and cannot really do anything about it at this point. If it wasn’t live streamed it would never have been realized and so we just move on,” World Poker Tour’s Executive Tour Director Matt Savage, who was not associated with the event, explained to PokerNews when asked how he would have proceeded.
PokerNews reached out to King’s Resort but have not received a response at time of publication.
Hand from the @WSOPC FT @PokerroomKings just 45 mins ago (+ stream delay). JTo player busts, no one including the d… https://t.co/fl90pJNGg9
Biggest Poker Error Ever?
With six players in the €1,700 buy-in Main Event remaining on Tuesday, and €171,000 to the winner, Kauert, a German player with only about $20,000 in previous Hendon Mob results, was all in for his remaining 1 million chips with .
He was up against the of Lupo, who easily had him covered. The pot was at 2.2 million, a significant amount considering there was only about 35 million total chips in play.
A poker fan on Twitter (@EyDuBrot) sent us the video, which was removed from the live-stream feed on YouTube. The flop came out , giving both players a gut-shot straight draw. But the on the turn gave them both a pair, with Lupo’s kicker being superior.
Kauert needed a king for a straight to win the hand outright or either a six or queen to chop. The board did pair when the appeared on the river, but apparently, no one even noticed that it was a chop pot.
Kauert shook hands with the others at the table and went to collect his winnings at King’s Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic. Even the announcers didn’t catch it, although the live-stream graphics did show “split” on the screen.
According to sources on-site, it was ruled that a player can only dispute a hand before another hand is dealt. This is similar to an NFL coach failing to challenge a play before the other team snaps the ball. In that case, the game continues and the previous play stands.
This story will be updated with any developments if and when they happen.