Poker Hall Of Fame Nomination Voting Now Open, Inductee To Be Revealed On Nov. 17

The 2021 World Series of Poker kicked off Thursday afternoon and with it became the first step to determining the next inductee into the Poker Hall of Fame.

The WSOP announced that it was accepting nominations for the 2021 class. Poker fans will be able to submit their picks online for who they believe should be selected up until Thursday, Oct. 14. Once the nomination process is closed, the top 10 vote-getters will be reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council to make sure all of 10 fit the criteria for the honor.

The criteria for being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Played for high stakes
• Be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with incredible positive and lasting results.

On Friday, Oct. 15, Caesars Entertainment will reveal the list of 10 finalists. Those 10 people will be voted on by the 32 living members of the Hall of Fame. The person who gets the most votes will become the 60th member of the group.

The official announcement will come on Wednesday, Nov. 17 during the WSOP Hall of Fame Bounty tournament.

Last year, 1996 WSOP main event champion Huck Seed was voted the 2020 inductee. Before 2020, there were typically two inductees each year. In 2019, it was 2003 WSOP main event winner Chris Moneymaker and high-stakes cash game legend David Oppenheim were chosen as the 57th and 58th members of the club.

Here is a look at everyone inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame since it was founded in 1979:

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandani 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Huck Seed 2020




Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button