Michael Perrone Wins First World Series Of Poker Bracelet In $1,000 No-Limit Hold’em Super Turbo Bounty

In just 16 hours of poker, Michael Perrone turned $1,000 into $152,173 and a World Series of Poker bracelet.

The New York native bested a 1,640-entry field in the $1,000 super turbo bounty no-limit hold’em to earn his first bracelet, the six-figure score and however many $300 bounties he picked up along the way. With the super turbo structure, blinds were raised every 20 minutes, allowing the large field to play to a winner in just one day.

It’s the continuation of a strong 2021 for Perrone, who final tabled the $3,500 World Poker Tour main event at Choctaw last July, finishing sixth for $118,090. At the time, the score in Oklahoma was the largest cash of Perrone’s career before he topped it in the early hours of Wednesday morning.

According to the official WSOP updates, playing this event wasn’t even in his schedule. He needed a nudge from a friend to enter.

“I wasn’t even going to play this event,” Perrone told WSOP reporters after the event. “I was going to go to the Wynn today to play the $1,600 Day 1A.”

Along with the victory, Perrone also picked up 1,080 Card Player Player of the Year points. The victory ties Perrone with high-stakes poker pro Jason Koon for 68th in the race for the title, which is sponsored by Global Poker.

Perrone started the unofficial final table in the middle of the pack, while everybody was staring at Pierre Calamusa, who had a massive chip lead when the field was down to 10 players. Short-stack Brock Wilson was eliminated in 10th which caused the chips to start flying in a response to the lack of a clear short stack and the super turbo structure.

Gabriel Ramos was eliminated in ninth when his pocket sevens ran into Paul Jain’s pocket jacks before Perrone started ascending the chip counts.

Perrone doubled through Badr Imejjane when they both got all the chips into the middle with flush draws. Perrone’s queen-high flush draw was actually in the lead against Imejjane’s 10-high flush draw and when neither player improved, he doubled up with just queen-high.

Imejjane was left with just a couple of big blinds after the dust settled and was eliminated by Jeremiah Fitzpatrick a few hands later.

Perrone continued his heater when seven-handed after the blinds increased again. In a three-way all in, Perrone eliminated Jain in seventh and John Moss in sixth. Jain moved all in from the cutoff for his last five big blinds, Moss called from the small blind and Perrone moved all in from the big blind.

Moss called which put Perrone in a great spot to eliminate two players at once. Jain tabled AHeart Suit10Spade Suit, Moss showed QDiamond SuitJSpade Suit and Perrone was out in front with KClub SuitKDiamond Suit. The board ran out safe for Perrone, which moved him into the chip lead for the first time.

From five-handed down to heads-up, Calamusa and Perrone scored alternating knockouts to get to heads-up play. Paul Dhaliwal ran A-8 into Calamusa’s pocket kings to head out in fifth, Perrone eliminated Scott Podolsky in fourth with pocket jacks against Podolsky’s Q-9, and Calamusa’s pocket 10s won a flip against Fitzpatrick’s QHeart SuitJHeart Suit to leave the two heads-up with Perrone holding the chip lead.

Perrone never let off the gas and failed to ever relinquish the lead. Without a single hand going to showdown, Perrone held a 6-to-1 chip advantage. Calamusa scored one double up from there, but Perrone grinded him back down to where he was and eventually got all in with AHeart Suit7Club Suit against Perrone’s QDiamond Suit9Club Suit.

Perrone had a stranglehold on the hand after the flop came QSpade Suit9Diamond Suit6Heart Suit, but the 7Heart Suit turn gave Calamusa a little hope. The 4Diamond Suit came on the river, however, and Perrone secured his first WSOP title.

Final Table Results:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Michael Perrone $152,173 1,080
2 Pierre Calamusa $94,060 900
3 Jeremiah Fitzpatrick $69,454 720
4 Scott Podolsky $51,787 540
5 Paul Dhaliwal $38,996 450
6 John Moss $29,657 360
7 Paul Jain $22,783 270
8 Badr Imejjane $17,680 180
9 Gabe Ramos $13,861 90




Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button