Connor Drinan Leads 78 Advancing From WPT Online Series Main Event Day 1A

Day 1A of the WPT Online Series Main Event on partypoker attracted a total of 521 entries, meaning the tournament is over halfway towards its guarantee of $3,000,000.

Each of the two starting flights of the Main Event play down to 15%, which left 78 players still standing at the end of Day 1A. Leading the way is Connor Drinan. Drinan’s best WPT result came in March 2016, when he finished eighth in the WPT Bay 101 Shooting Star Main Event for $102,760.

There are three other players above three million in chips: Tom Kunze, Paul Hong and Andras Nemeth.

We’ve got all the latest news, interviews and more from the 2021 WPT Online Series on partypoker right here on PokerNews. Head to the WPT Online Series Hub to find out more.

WPT Online Series Main Event Day 1A Top Ten Chip Counts

Rank Player Country Chip Count
1 Connor Drinan Canada 3,847,386
2 Tom Kunze Austria 3,830,846
3 Paul Hong New Zealand 3,266,071
4 Andras Nemeth Hungary 3,025,203
5 Michiel Brummelhuis Netherlands 2,966,027
6 Andre Abreu Brazil 2,953,564
7 Erik Lemarquand Canada 2,941,559
8 Yuan Yuan Li Canada 2,887,600
9 Thomas Boivin United Kingdom 2,695,794
10 Timothy Cavallin Canada 2,662,685

Notable Players Advancing

Michiel Brummelhuis and Joshua McCully will be brimming with confidence ahead of Day 2, after already final-tabling the Mini Main Event earlier in the festival. Brummelhuis bagged $41,984 for his third-place finish, while McCully took home $71,016 after a heads-up deal with eventual winner Fritjof Torstensson.

Other notables through to Day 2 include Daniel Dvoress, Juan Pardo, Ami Barer, Alex Foxen and Stoyan Madanzhiev.

Mega Satellite Winners

There were six players who made it through to Day 2 of the WPT Online Series Main Event having won their seats in a Mega Satellite that guaranteed 50 seats.

They were:

  • Viacheslav Zaslavskii – 2,284,875
  • Martin Stausholm – 1,393,471
  • Benjamin McMenemy – 823,945
  • Peter Traply – 538,565
  • Vitalijs Korhs – 438,766
  • Jasen Hamilton – 194,944

The next Mega Satellite guaranteeing 50 WPT Online Series Main Event seats takes place on Sunday, May 30 at 16:05 (BST). You can win our way in for just $0.01!

partypoker Ambassadors

Mikita Badziakouski

There were eight partypoker Ambassadors in action on Day 1A, but the only one to punch their ticket to Day 2 was Mikita Badziakouski who sits with just under 600,000 in chips. The likes of Dzmitry Urbanovich, Jamie Staples, Patrick Leonard, Joao Simao, Kristen Bicknell, Isaac Haxton, Jason Koon and Matthew Staples will have to hope Day 1B is kinder to them.

Read More: Which partypoker Team Pro Are You? Take This Quiz and Find Out!

Mattsson Leads Final 17 in WPT Online Series Event #23: $10,300 High Roller

Simon Mattsson

A total of 95 players entered the WPT Online Series Event #23: $10,300 High Roller, and after just under six hours of play on partypoker, only 17 players remain in with a shot of the title.

Leading the way is Sweden’s Simon Mattsson with Wiktor Malinowski and Sven Andersson close behind.

partypoker Ambassador Jason Koon sits 12th in chips.

WPT Online Series Event #23: $10,300 Top 10 Chip Counts

Rank Player Country Chip Count Big Blinds
1 Simon Mattsson Sweden 1,546,323 97
2 Wiktor Malinowski Russia 1,393,128 87
3 Sven Andersson Malta 1,388,537 87
4 Daniel Dvoress Canada 763,232 48
5 David Peters Canada 597,095 37
6 Christoph Vogelsang United Kingdom 589,012 37
7 Mike Watson Canada 475,264 30
8 Sami Kelopuro Finland 442,588 28
9 Sosia Jiang New Zealand 415,678 26
10 Joao Vieira Netherlands 340,617 21

Day 1 Recap

It was Christopher Brewer who won the first $10,300 High Roller of the 2021 WPT Online Series on partypoker, but he didn’t feature in this tournament.

However, plenty of other big names did including partypoker Ambassadors Kristen Bicknell, Patrick Leonard, Isaac Haxton and Mikita Badziakouski, all of which failed to cash.

Just 17 players would be assured a min-cash of $21,277 as Sam Greenwood, Niklas Astedt and former MILLIONS Online Main Event winner Benjamin Chalot all missed out. The bubble boy was Steve O’Dwyer.

The remaining players will return at 20:05 (BST) on Monday, May 24, 2021 and play down to a winner.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button