Sean Troha Wins World Series of Poker $10,000 Pot-Limit Omaha Championship

Sean Troha came into the 2022 World Series of Poker still looking for his first six-figure live tournament score. The North Olmsted, Ohio resident managed to skip that step by taking down the $10,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha championship event for a seven-figure score. Troha outlasted a record field of 683 entries to earn his first bracelet and $1,246,770. Troha now has nearly $1.6 million in recorded tournament earnings to his name.

In addition to the hardware and the money, Troha also secured 2,100 Card Player Player of the Year points as the champion of this event. This was his third final-table finish of the year. With 2,332 total points, he now sits in 32nd place in the 2022 POY race standings sponsored by Global Poker.

The 1,247 PokerGO Tour points Troha earned were his first. This win alone was enough to catapult him inside the top 20 on that leaderboard.

The huge turnout for this event built a prize pool of $6,368,975 that was paid out among the top 103 finishers. Plenty of notables made deep runs including four-time bracelet winner Ben Yu (97th – $16,047), bracelet winner and former Card Player POY Stephen Chidwick (96th – $16,047), defending champion Tommy Le (76th – $17,551), two-time bracelet winner John Kabbaj (41st – $26,764), four-time bracelet winner Jeff Madsen (19th – $41,985), bracelet winner Allan Le (12th – $61,760), 2017 $50,000 Poker Players Championship winner Elior Sion (11th – $76,792), European Poker Tour Dublin winner Dzmitry Urbanovich (10th – $76,792), and 2018 Aussie Millions champion Toby Lewis (8th – $124,611).

Shiva DudaniThe final day began with just five players remaining and Shiva Dudani in the chip lead. Joachim Haraldstad was the first to fall. The Norwegian got all-in on a K-Q-9 flop with kings up and was called by Dudani who held queens up with a gunshot straight draw and outs a set as well. Dudani hit a queen on the turn to make a full house and held from there to send Haraldstad to the rail in fifth place ($289,630). Tom Hu (5th – $395,465) soon followed, when his rivered two pair was bested by the full house of a surging Dudani, who had roughly three times as many chips as the next-largest stack heading into three-handed play.

Troha was the short stack at that point, but found a few double-ups to move into second place, including hitting a two-outer with an ace on the river to double through Dudani. Roughly half an hour after that, Troha once again hit a crucial card when all-in and behind. This time he had shoved on an AClub Suit10Club Suit8Diamond Suit flop with AHeart SuitKHeart SuitKSpade Suit7Heart Suit. Dudani held QSpade SuitQHeart Suit10Spade Suit10Diamond Suit for middle set. The KClub Suit turn gave Troha the higher set, and a blank river sent the massive pot his way to give him the lead.

Michael Duek’s run in this event came to an end when his flush and gutshot straight draws were unable to improve against the flopped top two pair of Dudani. Duek took home $548,015 as the third-place finisher.

With that, Troha took 23.5 million into heads-up play with Dudani, who had 17.5 million. Troha was soon able to pull away, establishing roughly a 3:1 lead by the time the final hand was dealt. All of the chips went in on a JSpade Suit6Diamond Suit4Heart Suit flop with Dudani holding KClub SuitJDiamond Suit9Diamond Suit6Club Suitfor top two pair. Troha had ASpade SuitQDiamond SuitJClub Suit10Diamond Suit for top pair with live overcards and backdoor straight possibilities. The 9Club Suit on the turn gave Dudani a higher two pair to remain ahead, but the QClub Suit on the river improved Troha to queens up to secure the pot and the title. Dudani was awarded $770,556 as the third-place finisher. This was by far the largest score of the two-time WSOP Circuit ring winner’s career, blowing away the $258,078 he earned as the champion of the 2020 WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond main event.

Here is a look at the payouts and rankings points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points PGT Points
1 Sean Troha $1,246,770 2100 1247
2 Shiva Dudani $770,556 1750 771
3 Michael Duek $548,015 1400 548
4 Tom Hu $395,465 1050 395
5 Joachim Haraldstad $289,630 875 290
6 Thair Kallabat $215,326 700 215
7 Nitesh Rawtani $162,542 525 163
8 Toby Lewis $124,611 350 125

Winner photo credit: WSOP / Danny Maxwell.

You can follow the 2022 World Series of Poker on Card Player’s series landing page, sponsored by Global Poker, the fastest growing online poker room in the world. Check out the series schedule, as well as event recaps, news, and player interviews.




Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button